Christa Schrauf, new President of the Kaiserswerther Generalkonferenz

Published on 15.07.2013

The Executive Committee of the Kaiserswerther Generalkonferenz elects the Austrian Pastor as the successor for the Swiss Pastor Christof Naef for the years 2013 - 2015.

Last week in Berlin, the Austrian evangelical theologian and pastor Christa Schrauf was elected president of the Kaiserswerther Generalkonferenz. The Rector of Diakoniewerk Gallneukirchen in Austria succeeds Swiss Pastor Christof Naef, who retired as the Head of the Theology Section of Stiftung Diaconis in Bern at the End of 2012.

Christa Schrauf has been Rector of Evangelisches Diakoniewerk Gallneukirchen since 2008. With more than 3000 employees, this enterprise is the largest diaconal employer in Austria. Before that, as a parish pastor, she was a member of the Synod of the Protestant Church A.B. and of the General Synod A.B. and H.B. and of the Executive Panel of Evangelische Frauenarbeit in Österreich. As Managing Pastor of Grazer Heilandskirche, Schrauf was responsible for numerous diaconal projects. She was also involved in the ecumenical forum, of the Christian Churches in the Steiermark and in the Committee for Christian-Jewish cooperation in Graz.

In the light of economization, secularization and increasing diversity, Schrauf wants "to carry the special character of the Kaiserswerth tradition, the guidance by Jesus Christ as a source of strength and motivation for shaping the diaconal community and work into the future and to ensure the theological orientation and diaconal identity in the context of changing framework conditions". Schrauf continues: "We want to discuss synergies with the other European and international diaconal associations and initiatives and thus give diaconal activities as a contribution for a successful inclusive togetherness in our society and our world maximum sustainability."

The term of office will run until the next General Conference of the Association of more than 100 Deaconess Houses, diaconal communities and diaconal organizations from Europe, Nord and South America and Asia. Due to numerous changes of members of the Executive Committee and for organizational reasons, the 42nd General Conference was postponed for a year and is now planned for the year 2015. New members of the Executive Committee of the General Conference are: Pastor Annette Goll, France, Dept. Mother Superior Elke Hendriksen, Switzerland, Director Jorn-Henning Theis, Norway as well as Mother Superior Pastor Gabriele Phieler and Theol. Chairman Pastor Klaus Riesenbeck from Germany.

The Kaiserswerther Generalkonferenz is an association of more than 100 Deaconess Houses, diaconal communities and diaconal organizations from Europe, Nord and South America and Asia. Members of the KGK Executive Committee are: Rector Mag. Christa Schrauf (A), Vice Rector Deaconess Terttu Pohjolainen (FIN), Director Marek Londzin (PL), Deaconess Monica Denk (North America), Abbess Pastor Hannah Becker (G-North), Sen. Sr. Deaconess Anke Frickmann (G-West), Mother Superior Sr. Hildegund Fieg (G-South), Sen. Sr. Roswitha Buff (G-South), Mother Superior Pastor Gabriele Phieler (G-East), Theol. Chairman Pastor Klaus Riesenbeck (G-West), Mother Superior Elke Hendriksen (Switzerland), Rector Pastor Annette Goll (F), Director Jørn-Henning Theis (N); KR Dr. Christine-Ruth Müller (Secretary General).

Berlin/Bern on July 15, 2013

Media contact:
Thomas Flügge, Press Spokesman
Tel.: +41 31 37025 -02, Fax -80
Mobile: +41 79 6401902

KR Dr. Christine-Ruth Müller, Managing Director of the Kaiserswerther Verband and Secretary General of the Kaiserswerther Generalkonferenz
Landhausstrasse 10, 10717 Berlin,
Tel. +49 30 8642 4170